Evidence for
Plate Tectonics (6-8)
Earthquakes as evidence: Lesson sequence
Getting started Lesson 1 Lesson 2 Lesson 3 Lesson 4
Description Activity 1 Activity 2 Assessments/Rubrics

Fault types and plate boundaries

Students will become familiar with/review the types of movement in three types of faults: normal, reverse, and strike slip, recognizing that the direction of movement can be described as convergent, divergent, or transform. Students then investigate the connection between the direction that plates move relative to one another and the types of earthquakes that occur at their boundaries.

Ideas for introducing Lesson 2:
Review the three types of faults with your students, eliciting that earthquakes occur at faults where two land masses move past one another. The direction of movement defines the type of fault. Students can then review these fault types through the first activity: Reviewing direction of movement in faults.

Activities in this lesson: 2
Classroom time: 2-3 class periods

From this lesson, students will understand that:

- Generally the relative motion of individual earthquakes reflects the relative motion of plates.(CA Standards 6.1c, 6.1d) (NSES 5-8 Standard D)
- Strike slip faults usually occur at transform boundaries (CA Standard 6.1d)
- Reverse faults usually occur at convergent boundaries (CA Standard 6.1d)
- Normal faulting usually occurs at divergent boundaries (CA Standard 6.1d)

Vocabulary: Convergent, divergent, transform, fault types: normal, reverse, and strike slip
Subduction, sea-floor spreading, denser, oceanic plate, continental plate